Yoga That Doesn’t Suck

I’m one of those people where I can be totally happy not doing yoga every day of my life.

I can also be totally content eating cereal for the rest of my life.

Neither of these things are healthy and the older I get, the more I realize that I know less than nothing. There’s always more to learn and it’s easy to miss crucial points (like cereal is not actually not a balanced breakfast!)

The past few years have brought more pain and eventually, I couldn’t bend my kneesThe amount of pain that I was in due to coddling myself (and inactivity due to pain due to inactivity due to…you get it) didn’t allow me to do many of the daily tasks that many normal people are able to do. 

So what are my options?

  1. Be miserable and in pain
  2. Be tolerating of everything and coast by
  3. DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT

There are many different low impact exercises that I hope to introduce into my lifestyle over the next few years. Some of these things include:

  • Specialty Low-Impact Swim Classes
  • Power Walking
  • Yoga
  • Tai Chi

I managed to stumble upon an incredible resource that I hope you’ll find quite helpful. Let me introduce you to yoga that doesn’t suck:

1
Click the picture to go to the Youtube Video. Photo Credit to sleepysantosha.com

 Sleepy Santosha creator, Rachel Marie White,  also suffers from chronic pain and many of her videos are directed toward people with similar conditions.

This youtube video has become a staple in my morning routine.

Wait. Go back. Click that link. You won’t regret it!

I’ve modified it to my own liking by adding a few extra stretches during my routine, I can’t hold the positions for as long as I’d like but I’m working on it! Eventually, I’ll get to the point where I’m able to complete the entire sequence without my newly-unwrapped but definitely not newly-purchased yoga block or taking time to rest between poses.

Here’s to 2017!

To yoga that doesn’t suck & a little self-awareness!

 

For clarity: This is a recommendation, not a sponsored post. I don’t tend to write sponsored content, but when I do, you will have no doubts.
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

